No Shelf for This Elf

‘Tis the season for all sorts of merry-making and the Elf on the Shelf happens to be a tradition in our house. Now, before you get all huffy, my sister started it all so I can’t take credit (Love you, sissy)! Our elf friend – Ted, as he is called – entered our home in December of 2012. I had no idea what The Elf on the Shelf was, but my mom and sister had students that had spoken of this little gnome and thought it would be fun for me to do with my guys. At the time Max was 2 and Quint was 8 months old. This concept was lost on them that first year…and pretty much the next year…but in 2014 it was ON.

I am going to share some of the little tableaus that I have masterminded over the years. Some are completely original creations that came out of some random “elf idea” area of my brain. Others are things I have seen on Pinterest, or various Facebook articles, or even what some of my friends have done. Feel free to recreate what you see. Feel free to share. Thirty days of ideas each year (for how many years?!) is a daunting undertaking and quite frankly, sometimes I draw a blank as to what I should do next!

The basic idea is this: I go with what my kids like. Over time, I have combined some advent goodies with the elf and he has certain things he always brings: new pajamas, advent calendars, gingerbread house/train/village, etc. In some instances he is mischievous and in others he is thoughtful. The dollar store is AWESOME for stuff. I set out a mini wind-up train for the boys this year and I even have a mini gingerbread house to go with their village. Sometimes I give them crafts to make and then they chose who will receive them.

We are all about the spirit of giving and having fun. They are only little once and if I could bottle up the wonder and magic of this season to sprinkle on their heads when they are ornery teenagers I would. I hope they laugh and remember all the funny things Ted, Smart Frisbee, and Joy did.

So buckle up, buttercups, and enjoy the show! I wish we had some theme music, but here we go…Oh, and some of the pictures have captions…either explaining what in the world you are looking at, or telling you how to make what you are seeing. Happy viewing!

I’m not sure if this will be my final post of 2016, but in the event it is, I wish you all a very joyous holiday season. If you need to re-read my post from November, now’s the time. Find joy, be present, and make those memories. Blessings from my family to yours.

Leave a Reply

